Ceylon and thanks for all the fish…

So this past week I have been spending every spare minute making the gorgeous Ceylon dress by Colette patterns. Firstly, I would like to say what an absolute pleasure this pattern has been to sew. Not only does it come in the sweetest, retro packaging but the instructions are so easy to follow and there were no horrible “eek I don’t know what that means” moments. I was a little apprehensive that it would be beyond my meagre skillset, as it’s labelled an intermediate pattern, but I figured nothing ventured, nothing gained. Also, I’d spent so long dribbling over the two beautiful versions on Tilly and the Buttons I just couldn’t resist!

20130225-000120.jpg
I made it in a beautiful red and cream liberty print fabric that I squirrelled up a couple of years ago. It was so nice to finally use it for something! It’s very thin/fine (presumably cotton??) so will probably need a slip or something underneath it. I didn’t make any adjustments and just hoped for the best in terms of the fit. I didn’t want to get too big for my boots given that the pattern was in a bajillion pieces and I was using such beautiful fabric. So now I’m eagerly awaiting the arrival of some self-cover buttons so that I can add the finishing touches and hem it. What do you think of the (nearly) finished article?

20130225-000616.jpg

20130225-000727.jpg

3 thoughts on “Ceylon and thanks for all the fish…

  1. Looks great – beautiful colour! I am in love with this pattern (and all things Colette)! I am hoping to embark soon on the Colette Anise Jacket having recently finished the Pastille Dress from the Colette Handbook. Can’t wait to see your dress all finished… buttons and all!

    • Thank you, thank you :)! I just spied your yellow Pastille dress, it’s lovely! Next I will be embarking on the Colette Jasmine top. Feels like it should be an easy ride after the Ceylon dress, fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

